Session 14- Completing Naatadavu and related terminology

Before we start learning the7th variation in Naatadavu, let’s look at two other feetagrasancharam positions involved. We are going to study 2 terms today. They are :

  1. Agratala Sancharam: This is a term from Natyasashtra that describes, one foot placed normally and the other foot placed on the toes with the heels held up.There are a lot of variations possible in this position,and we come across one such in this step.( as shown in the right.)
  2. Parshvagam

    Parshvagam: This term from Sangita Ratnakara refers to the feet that is placed flat on the ground with the toes turned towards the sides.

      Anjitham sometimes spelled ancitam or Naattu you are already familiar with, receives mention in the Natyasahtra.

      Let’s now watch the animation and look for these positons…














      Ta- a




      Ha- a


      R Nattu

      L tap in parshavagam

      Turn to L

      (Right in agratala sanchara)

      L tap- R tap

      L Nattu

      R tap tap in parshavagam

      Turn to R Left in agratala sanchara)

      R tap- L tap

      Count Guide









      This table is given to help understand the footwork and its rhythmic distribution in this step.

      Start: Aramandi with katakamukhams at chest level.

      1. Thai– Stretch the right leg in anjitham to the side with the hands stretched diagonally in alapadmam.Right hand nearing the right toe.
      2. Yum: Tap the other left in parshvagam while the hands remain in the previous position.
      3. Tat– Turn towards the left, with the diagonal of the hand maintained change hastas to katamukham. The right feet is on toes stretched in agratala sancharam.(Ref fig in agratala sancharaam)
      4. Ta – There are 2 movements for this one beat.
        • (a)Tap the left in parshvagam with the hands retained in a diagonal stretched katakamukham.
        • (b)Bring the right leg back to aramandi position in a tap. The hands now move back to the front of the chest (still in katakamukham)

          For Thai-yum-ta-ha mirror the movements in left. Lets try this with our audio

          The Naatadavu 8th step is almost a double repition of the 7th step. Here the Sequence of movement from 1-4a is executed and the student then begins with the sequence 1 and completes it till 4 b. The whole scheme uses up all the 8 syllables as follows

          • Tai- Movement 1
          • Yum- Movement 2
          • Tat- Movement 3
          • Ta-Movement 4a
          • Tai- Movement 1
          • Yum- Movement 2
          • Ta- Movement 3
          • Ha- Movement 4a and b

          The left uses up another 8 syllables for total execution. Try with this audio

          In other styles like the Pandanallur its derivatives and Thanjavur traditions, there are few other kinds of Naatadavu extensions that are a combination of Naatadavu and Dit-tit-tai adavus that have a sorkattu Tai- yum- tat- ta- tai- tai- dhithi-tai. The Dit tit tai adavus are a category by themselves and will be covered as a seperate adavu a little later in this class.

          For Adavanced Learners:

          When analyzing the Nattadavu , we see 3 variations in “Anjitham/Naatu” itself:

          1. Parshva Anjitha– Nattu to the side -As in step1,2,7 and 8
          2. Sama anjitha– Nattu in the front- As in step 3and 4
          3. Tryasra Anjitha– Nattu in between the above 2 as in step5 and 6.

            Leave a Reply

            Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:


            You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

            Google photo

            You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

            Twitter picture

            You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

            Facebook photo

            You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

            Connecting to %s

            %d bloggers like this: